ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is an international tournament organized by the

International Cricket Council (ICC). Its first edition was played in South Africa in

2007. The winner of the first edition of T20 Cricket World Cup was India while Pakistan was the runner up. Here we go through the champions one after another in the following catalogue.


Host: South Africa

Winner: India

Runner’s up: Pakistan

Image source-Google Image by-DNA India

ANALYSIS: India batting first , were only managed to put up a score of 157/5 with the remembering knock of Gautam Gambhir in the final. India, almost slipping the match from hand , did a miracle through the famous and risky decision of the incredible MS Dhoni of giving Joginder Sharma to deliver in the final over instead of Harbhajan Singh. Pakistan were thus bundled to 152 with 3 balls to spare.


Host: England

Winner: Pakistan

Runner’s up: Sri Lanka

Image Source-Google Image by-DNA India

ANALYSIS: The formidable batting order of the Lankan team were restricted to

138/6(20) by the Pakistani bowlers. Though it was very clean and easy for the Pakistani batsmen to achieve the target of 139 they were almost pulled back by the Lankans yet they got the target run a ball in the final over of the match.


Host: West Indies

Winner: England

Runner’s up: Australia

Image source-Google Image by-ICC

ANALYSIS: After consecutive low scoring finals back in 2007 and 2009 ,this final didn’t also witness huge scores on board. The Aussies, batting first, scored 147/6 in their 20 overs quota. The target of 148 was easily achieved by the English side as they cruised into the match , winning it smoothly by 7 wickets with 3 overs to spare; receiving their first ever ICC title.


Host: Sri Lanka

Winner: West Indies

Runner’s up: Sri Lanka

Image source-Google , Image by-Twenty20 wiki

ANALYSIS: This was the 2nd crispier final to be played of this cup after 2007. West Indies batting first were halted by the host team to 137/6(20).

But there was a twist in the tale waiting in the grand match. The Lankan side were shocked to be bundled by the Caribbean side to 101 with 6 balls to remain.


Host: Bangladesh

Winner: Sri Lanka

Runner’s up: India

Image source-Google, Image by-The sports Rush

ANALYSIS: After the ICCWC 2011 , these two finalists were again face-to-face in an ICCWC match.

This time the Lankan lions was not failure and sweetly took the revenge of their previous disappointment against MSD & co. Indians batted first and scored only 130/4(20). The Lankan side thus easily chased the target with 13 balls remaining, thereby winning their first T20 title.


Host: India

Winner: West Indies

Runner’s up: England

Image source-Google Image by-ICC

ANALYSIS: The Caribbean side won a thriller against the English men at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The most mouth-watering final, played with high warmth as the English side managed to put 155/9 in their 20 overs which were chased down by the formidable strong pinch hitters of Indies. Indies hammered 19 runs in their last over with the help of Carlos Braithwaite and thus the West Indies became 2nd time winners of the T20 world cup.


The above list shows that the West Indies is the most successful team that has won two ICC T20 Cricket World Cups: 2012 and 2016. On the other hand, the Sri Lankan team has played three finals of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup, winning one and runner up in two finals.

It is also surprising to note that Australia has not won a single ICC T20 Cricket World Cup so far while this team has won 5 ICC Cricket World Cups of 50 overs format.

The Indian team was the first team to clinch the inaugural ICC T20 Cricket World Cup tournament.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the seventh edition of the ICC T20

Cricket World Cup was postponed which was scheduled in Australia. It is worth mentioning that for the first time, India will host ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here